BOSTES (Board of Studies Teaching & Educational Standards NSW) determines the curriculum to be taught in all NSW State, Catholic and Independent schools.


The curriculum is divided into six Key Learning Areas and syllabus documents inform what is to be taught in each area.

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Human Society And Its Environment (incorporating History from 2016)
  • Science and Technology
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education